BBO Discussion Forums: General question -- MI and UI - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

General question -- MI and UI

#1 User is offline   Vampyr 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,611
  • Joined: 2009-September-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Posted 2011-February-20, 18:16



3 was alerted and explained as a mixed raise. After receiving this explanation, North doubled. The actual agreement was fit jump.

So... in the play, is declarer allowed to know that North has clubs? He has doubled to show them, but this double was based on misinformation. I asked a director who is much more experienced than I, and he said that North's holding clubs was authorised to declarer, because the auction is always authorised. But I wonder...

This post has been edited by Vampyr: 2011-February-21, 09:47

I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein
0

#2 User is offline   blackshoe 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 17,878
  • Joined: 2006-April-17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 2011-February-20, 19:39

Quote

Law 16A1(a): A player may use information in the auction or play if: (a) it derives from the legal calls and plays of the current board (including illegal calls and plays that are accepted) and is unaffected by unauthorized information from another source;

Note that "the auction is always authorized" is not a true statement. So the question here is whether the information that North has hearts is affected by UI. There is UI here: East's explanation that 3 is a mixed raise is UI to West. But East doesn't have any UI, and he's the declarer. So it seems to me the answer to your question is "yes, declarer is allowed to know that North has hearts". :)
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
0

#3 User is offline   Cascade 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Yellows
  • Posts: 6,772
  • Joined: 2003-July-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Juggling, Unicycling

Posted 2011-February-20, 20:16

That maybe true in a temporal sense.

However at the end of the hand north maybe able to argue MI which would have induced him not to double and therefore not to give the opponents so much information thus causing damage.
Wayne Burrows

I believe that the USA currently hold only the World Championship For People Who Still Bid Like Your Auntie Gladys - dburn
dunno how to play 4 card majors - JLOGIC
True but I know Standard American and what better reason could I have for playing Precision? - Hideous Hog
Bidding is an estimation of probabilities SJ Simon

#4 User is offline   blackshoe 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 17,878
  • Joined: 2006-April-17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 2011-February-20, 20:23

That may be, Wayne, but it is not relevant to the original question.
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
0

#5 User is offline   bluejak 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 2007-August-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2011-February-21, 07:59

Actually, Ed, I think it is. If declarer assumes he knows something from the auction, but that something is a direct result of MI from his side, therefore declarer should be aware that using that information is not productive because it is likely to be ruled back at the end. So, in effect, best - and ethically best as well - is to act as though you did not know it.

So while the technical answer as to whether you are allowed to know it may be Yes, the practical answer is No.
David Stevenson

Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
0

#6 User is offline   iviehoff 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,165
  • Joined: 2009-July-15

Posted 2011-February-21, 08:10

(Crossposted with Bluejak's) I don't think this (ie Blackshoe's analysis) can be correct. W would not know N has hearts if it was behind screens. It worries me that W is allowed to know something as AI simply because it is open rather than screened.

Suppose this was behind screens. E would misinform North about 3, and discover in return that double shows hearts. But W would correctly inform S and get a different explanation of the double. Has W been misinformed? I think not. N has misbid on the basis of MI, and W has received the correct explanation. W therefore declares the contract, knowing the "correct" explanation, but not the fact of N's misbid.

So I think the correct answer is as follows.

The AI to W is "if W has a fitjump, dbl shows A, if W has a mixed raise, dbl shows B". Since "N thinks W has a mixed raise" is UI, knowledge that N was misbidding on the basis of MI is UI, so W is not allowed to use the knowledge that N has hearts. Even if he heard S say it, and not give the full explanation as above.

This post has been edited by iviehoff: 2011-February-21, 08:11

0

#7 User is offline   Vampyr 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,611
  • Joined: 2009-September-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Posted 2011-February-21, 09:45

Sorry!!!!! This is really embarrassing. I don't know how I managed to type that North has hearts, of course he has clubs, and that is what he doubled to show when he thought the bid was artificial!
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein
0

#8 User is offline   Vampyr 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,611
  • Joined: 2009-September-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Posted 2011-February-21, 09:50

View Postblackshoe, on 2011-February-20, 19:39, said:

But East doesn't have any UI, and he's the declarer.


He will have UI before the play of the hand when partner tells the opponents that the agreement was that 3 is a fit jump.

So now, according to the "actual" auction, the doubles does not show clubs.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein
0

#9 User is online   Cyberyeti 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 14,733
  • Joined: 2009-July-13
  • Location:England

Posted 2011-February-21, 10:41

If declarer had been W, there would have been more of an issue.

E has made his explanation (wrongly), and N has bid on that basis. NS may claim damage afterwards, but I think declarer can assume N has clubs in the play.

If W had been declarer, he doesn't see his partner's explanation, so assumes the unalerted double is takeout of his fit jump so may not be able to assume this. But then of course what happens if he simply asks what the double is ...
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users