Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Passing 1D

#1 User is offline   UdcaDenny 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-February-06, 21:56

Just played a tournament where opener bid 1C and responder bid 1D.
I passed in 4th position and opener also passed. They didnt alert
and when asked I got the answer "no information". I called TD and
she said it was normal SAYC bidding. Im not an expert of SAYC but
a bid from an unpassed partner must be forcing in my world.

#2 User is offline   blackshoe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-February-06, 22:45

It's forcing in SAYC too, but there's no law that says opener can't pass a forcing bid.
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean

#3 User is offline   Zelandakh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-February-07, 03:46

Opener is allowed to pass providing they have no UI from their partner to indicate that they have not got a strong hand. It certainly is not "normal SAYC bidding" but perhaps what the TD meant is that the bids have the same meanings as they would in SAYC, that is that the 1 opener is 3+ and ~12/13+ hcp, and that the 1 response is 6+ and forcing. If it turns out that the opponents are actually playing a system where the 1 response has an unexpected meaning, such as being non-forcing, then there should have been an alert. It is certainly not acceptable for the opponents to give the explanation "no information" about a call on the first round of bidding. If the TD allowed them to get away with this then (s)he was not doing their job properly.