BBO Discussion Forums: Suit preference when giving a ruff - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Suit preference when giving a ruff Have things changed?

#1 User is offline   jdeegan 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Economics
    Finance
    Bridge bidding theory
    Cooking
    Downhill skiing

Posted 2013-October-19, 03:21

:P One of the original suit preference signals in bridge was that when one returns a card for partner to ruff - a big card asks for a return of the higher ranking suit, a low card for the return of the lower ranking suit, and a middle card for no preference. This was one of the first things I was taught back in the day, even before I graduated university.

Recently, I have enjoyed playing in the BBO one dollar individual tournaments. They offer good rough and tumble bridge games where everybody plays SAYC. You do have to have a standard way to play in such a situation. About 10% of the players have BBO stars. The rest of the players are either already good or are else striving to get better.

My question is why when I return a high/low card for a ruff I almost never seem to get the return I asked for? Has the old standard convention changed? Is it no longer taught? It keeps happening to me. WTF is going on?

#2 User is offline   StevenG 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-October-19, 05:55

View Postjdeegan, on 2013-October-19, 03:21, said:

Is it no longer taught?

Are people taught bridge any more?

#3 User is offline   amre_man 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2013-October-19, 11:16