BBO Discussion Forums: Some questions regarding daylongs. - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Some questions regarding daylongs.

#1 User is offline   jardaholy 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2021-February-14, 17:04

In Covid-19 time, I started playing daylongs. I have played around 10 000 boards approaximately, mainly in BBO MP1, MP2, IMP1 and JD MP1. I also participated in BIC.
I reached 1000 BBO points recently. I like daylongs and play them often.

I have several general, but important questions to the daylongs:
Question 1: How are the boards for daylongs generated? Is it purely random generation or there is some selection of generated boards?
It seems to me - and not to me only - that the boards are selected from much broader population. In comparison with real bridge world in club, these boards are
much more entertaining, difficult and didactic. In other words - the frequency of interesting boards separating average, good and excellent players is much higher than
in real bridge (sometimes, it seems to me that any almost board represents interesting bridge problem). Is it just my feeling or the boards are selected such a way?
Question 2: I understand that a kind of principle of broader pool of boards is applied in any daylong to prevent cheating. My question is: how are concrete boards assigned to
concrete players? Is it based on completely random selection or there is some additional selection on the base of characteristics of the players? Do players
with more BBO points (BBO masters) get more difficult, more unbalanced, specific in some manner etc. boards? (I would not expect that, but would like to know that for sure).
Question 3: How are the PLAYERS divided into the groups playing the same boards? Is it completely random or are the experts put in the groups with more experts than the
average players (or something like that)