RR's remark Law 73C1
#21
Posted 2022-December-11, 19:12
What would happen, if the dummy duly places the hearts on the right side?
#22
Posted 2022-December-14, 07:42
Manastorm, on 2022-December-11, 19:12, said:
What would happen, if the dummy duly places the hearts on the right side?
I presume you mean "after the initial placement and comment". I think that would be an action that he could be aware might damage RR and could lead to an adjustment.
I prefer to give the lawmakers credit for stating things for a reason - barmar
#24
Posted 2022-December-14, 09:17
pescetom, on 2022-December-14, 09:14, said:
I don't see how placing clubs on the right might damage RR.
Dummy moving hearts to the left when they are not on the left in response to a request from RR to put the trumps on the left might well damage RR who clearly thinks that it is a trump contract and not spades.
I prefer to give the lawmakers credit for stating things for a reason - barmar
#25
Posted 2022-December-15, 11:04
lamford, on 2022-December-14, 09:17, said:
Dummy moving hearts to the left when they are not on the left in response to a request from RR to put the trumps on the left might well damage RR who clearly thinks that it is a trump contract and not spades.
I am not convinced, although I agree it would be irregular to comply with the request. In any case I don't see why dummy would imagine hearts as trumps rather than clubs.
#26
Posted 2022-December-15, 20:04
What should ChCh think about the situation. Is ChCh allowed to point out what the correct contract is. Maybe it isn't his best interest right now, since SB might be fooled also. Let's assume SB asks ChCh about their opening lead tendencies. Should ChCh try to be cheaky here. Let's say SB is fooled and starts to draw trumps successfully and finesses a suit and by doing it opens it to defence, when they win a trick. Can ChCh now use the moment for their advantage to remind the table about the right contract? Even funnier, if defence plays along and lets declarer to ruff a suit to his disadvantage, surely such a layout is possible to find.
#27
Posted 2023-January-02, 03:53
Cyberyeti, on 2022-December-03, 12:03, said:
Leading 4th best from 3 is difficult even for RR
No - RR quite often sorts a spade amongst his clubs and leads '4th highest' from three,
No matter how well you know the laws, there is always something that you'll forget. That is why we have a book.
Get the facts. No matter what people say, get the facts from both sides BEFORE you make a ruling or leave the table.
Remember - just because a TD is called for one possible infraction, it does not mean that there are no others.
In a judgement case - always refer to other TDs and discuss the situation until they agree your decision is correct.
The hardest rulings are inevitably as a result of failure of being called at the correct time. ALWAYS penalize both sides if this happens.
Get the facts. No matter what people say, get the facts from both sides BEFORE you make a ruling or leave the table.
Remember - just because a TD is called for one possible infraction, it does not mean that there are no others.
In a judgement case - always refer to other TDs and discuss the situation until they agree your decision is correct.
The hardest rulings are inevitably as a result of failure of being called at the correct time. ALWAYS penalize both sides if this happens.