• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

5D?

#21 User is offline   MrAce 

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-January-20, 05:16

I bid 5. After 3 overcall and my holding they are making this 4. To be honest i am not expecting a both side making game situation here but i doubt 5 will go -800 or -500. There is a good chance we may get away with -100 -300 or even push them to 5 level.

OBAR bids require special agreement. I didn't see original poster mentioning anything about it. But, yes, as Ben stated if we have this agreement then we shouldn't really get excited about that hand and just pass.

In general i do not like OBAR bids except than 1-pass-2-2. The ones at 3 level gets complicated. Perhaps i am not good at using them efficiently but thats how i feel about them. Especially when opponents are opening very light and responding/raising on a dime. For the same reason i gave up on "sandwich NT" and playing natural 1 NT overcall.
"Genius has its own limitations, however stupidity has no such boundaries!"
"It's only when a mosquito lands on your testicles that you realize there is always a way to solve problems without using violence!"

"Well to be perfectly honest, in my humble opinion, of course without offending anyone who thinks differently from my point of view, but also by looking into this matter in a different perspective and without being condemning of one's view's and by trying to make it objectified, and by considering each and every one's valid opinion, I honestly believe that I completely forgot what I was going to say."

#22 User is offline   whereagles 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Everything!

Posted 2011-January-20, 06:08

It doesn't take OBAR to realize an overcall after opps shown a fit is a very safe move, even if at the 3 level and even with as little as 8 hcp.