BBO Discussion Forums: 1S- (P) 2H - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1S- (P) 2H What do you expect from 2H (non 2/1)?

#1 User is offline   SimonFa 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, sailing (yachts and dinghies),

Posted 2013-January-14, 02:08

When I started playing a couple of years ago my partner's system noted said that 2 Hearts on this sequence should show a very good 11+HCP and 5 Hearts, as it consumes so much bidding space and I've always taken this to be the case. I even play it shows 5 hearts in 2/1, although a good 12+ HCPs because we open light.

However I was playing Acol with a new partner for the first time and I bid 2NT (we had agreed no J2N) with a 3=4=3=3 hand and 12 HCP. He didn't like it because it meant that he couldn't show his 5th spade at the 2 level and the spade game would have been better than 3NT. His argument was the I should have bid 2H which would have been forcing and he could show the 5th spade at the 2 level.

Have I been too harsh on my treatment of 2H requiring a 5-card suit when playing 5-card majors?

Is it acceptable to play this as 4-card suit in Acol? If so is it forcing for one round? I assume it is - new suit at new level.

As always, thanks in advance,

Simon

#2 User is offline   Codo 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:games and sports, esp. bridge,chess and (beach-)volleyball

Posted 2013-January-14, 04:13

I am no ACOlist, but in FES and similar systems, you rebid 2 with your 3433.
The reason is that 2 takes up much space and so it should be defiend as 5+ hearts and (at least nearly) gf- as you have written yourself.

An it is MUCH preferable to be uncertain about the length of a minor then of a major.

Kind Regards

Roland

Sanity Check: Failure (Fluffy)
More system is not the answer...

#3 User is offline   P_Marlowe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip